Anti-Homophobic film makers win Diana Award

Anti-Bullying Champions praised with Diana Award

The Magna Carta School is delighted to announce that Duncan Lewry, Charlotte Hewitt, Hannah Wells, Cara Houghton and Molly Russell have been publicly honored with the Diana Award for their groundbreaking film Homophobia – Our Closeted Education.

The Diana Award was established in 1999 as a legacy to Diana, Princess of Wales’ belief that young people have the power to change the world.

The Award exists to celebrate young people who support others and strive to improve their communities. 36,000 inspirational young people have received the Diana Award for demonstrating the qualities associated with the late Princess – compassion and a selfless commitment to improving the lives of others.

These 5 students are all studying the Creative and Media Diploma which is an intensive course part of the 14-19 Runnymede and Elmbridge network. They were expected to produce a film for one of the units and after extensive research, interviews with people who were victims of homophobic bullying, talking to teachers and students & interviews with Stonewall and Schools-out they have put together a compelling and emotive 10 minute documentary which has really hit home to students and staff across the county about the need for change.

To read the full press release below

Web Link